Recommending @Rough Type: Nicholas Carr’s Exodus

Nicholas Carr speaking at the VINT Symposium h...
Image via Wikipedia

Found at Rough Type: Nicholas Carr’s Blog: Exodus.

Has it begun?

James Sturm, the cartoonist, can’t take it anymore, “it” being the Internet:

Over the last several years, the Internet has evolved from being a distraction to something that feels more sinister. Even when I am away from the computer I am aware that I AM AWAY FROM MY COMPUTER and am scheming about how to GET BACK ON THE COMPUTER. I’ve tried various strategies to limit my time online: leaving my laptop at my studio when I go home, leaving it at home when I go to my studio, a Saturday moratorium on usage. But nothing has worked for long. More and more hours of my life evaporate in front of YouTube … Essential online communication has given way to hours of compulsive e-mail checking and Web surfing. The Internet has made me a slave to my vanity: I monitor the Amazon ranking of my books on an hourly basis, and I’m constantly searching for comments and discussions about my work.

To be continued at

http://www.roughtype.com/archives/2010/04/exodus.php

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
4 thoughts on “Recommending @Rough Type: Nicholas Carr’s Exodus

  1. Pingback: So, Where Do You Stand on the Issue of Delinkification?

  2. Pingback: Rough Type: Nicholas Carr’s Blog « Fredzimny's Blog

  3. With HCL ISD coming up with their innovative platform MyCloud, Nicholas G. Carr (aka Nick), the author of The Big Switch: Rewiring the World, From Edison to Google, anticipates more such innovations out of intense competition. View HCL Technologies’ VP – Marketing Anubhav Saxena asking him about the development of an economic progress model for the suppliers of Cloud Computing. “Cloud is going to turn a lot of basic infrastructure into a raw commodity,” nodded Nick while replying to Anubhav. http://bit.ly/kKjWJF

    Like

  4. Observing great progress in the development of Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud Computing, and computing utility services, Nicholas G. Carr (aka Nick), the author of The Big Switch: Rewiring the World, From Edison to Google talks about the vision of CIOs and the like for Cloud Computing in the video. See Anubhav Saxena, VP — Marketing, HCL Technologies exploring the scope of building a common workable system to meet ever increasing demands in End User Computing with him. http://bit.ly/kSVRSA

    Like

Comments are closed.