Recently, I was fortunate enough to find myself in Munich, Germany during a trip to visit with family and discovered that just north of town is the city of Ingolstadt, which is home to the Audi factory. Being somewhat of a gear-head and very much an Audi fan, I decided to take the factory tour and check out the museum (I essentially got a private tour as I took the English version and it was only my wife and I on it – HIGHLY recommend it!).

The factory is awe-inspiring.

The precision, engineering skill, and capability, and just the sheer magnitude of what happens there is difficult to convey in words (and they won’t allow you to take pictures or I would have). As we walked amongst the fully automated parts delivery, welding and assembly robots, and the amazing tooling and stamping lines, I was struck, as was my wife, by the sheer digital power on display. The interconnection of CPU “brains” in these devices that is required to achieve such incredible efficiency and deliver a completed car from blank steel within 34 hours is staggering.

I said, as we passed between buildings, that we were witnessing a great example of the Internet of Things (IoT) in action, but I think actually that IoUT would have been a more appropriate term to use.

The IoUT vs. The IoST

Read all: IoST and IoUT: Why They Matter for IoT Growth | Talend

Leave a Reply

